Tax lien software by DJ LotusDJ Lotus

Welcome: Guest

State information : Illinois is a tax lien state.

State map of Illinois.
Click map for detail.
Auction Method:
Interest bid down
Redemption period:
30 Months
Maximum interest rate:
Sale date:
Varies by county
If a lien holder does not pay subsequent tax payments then his/her lien can be bought out by a later lien holder.
Number of counties:
Illinois is a tax lien state. There are 2 types of lien sales: the annual sale, which is a bid down on interest, and scavenger sales which are left-over items. The interest rate is 18% or lower for annual sales, while scavenger sales are 24% with differing penalties based upon the time before the lien is redeemed.

County, County seat, Population:
Adams CountyQuincy68,277
Alexander CountyCairo9,590
Bond CountyGreenville17,633
Boone CountyBelvidere41,786
Brown CountyMount Sterling6,950
Bureau CountyPrinceton35,503
Calhoun CountyHardin5,084
Carroll CountyMount Carroll16,674
Cass CountyVirginia13,695
Champaign CountyUrbana179,669
Christian CountyTaylorville35,372
Clark CountyMarshall17,008
Clay CountyLouisville14,560
Clinton CountyCarlyle35,535
Coles CountyCharleston53,196
Cook CountyChicago5,376,741
Crawford CountyRobinson20,452
Cumberland CountyToledo11,253
De Witt CountyClinton16,798
DeKalb CountySycamore88,969
Douglas CountyTuscola19,922
DuPage CountyWheaton904,161
Edgar CountyParis19,704
Edwards CountyAlbion6,971
Effingham CountyEffingham34,264
Fayette CountyVandalia21,802
Ford CountyPaxton14,241
Franklin CountyBenton39,018
Fulton CountyLewistown38,250
Gallatin CountyShawneetown6,445
Greene CountyCarrollton14,761
Grundy CountyMorris37,535
Hamilton CountyMcLeansboro8,621
Hancock CountyCarthage20,121
Hardin CountyElizabethtown4,800
Henderson CountyOquawka8,213
Henry CountyCambridge51,020
Iroquois CountyWatseka31,334
Jackson CountyMurphysboro59,612
Jasper CountyNewton10,117
Jefferson CountyMount Vernon40,045
Jersey CountyJerseyville21,668
Jo Daviess CountyGalena22,289
Johnson CountyVienna12,878
Kane CountyGeneva404,119
Kankakee CountyKankakee103,833
Kendall CountyYorkville54,544
Knox CountyGalesburg55,836
Lake CountyWaukegan644,356
LaSalle CountyOttawa111,509
Lawrence CountyLawrenceville15,452
Lee CountyDixon36,062
Livingston CountyPontiac39,678
Logan CountyLincoln31,183
Macon CountyDecatur114,706
Macoupin CountyCarlinville49,019
Madison CountyEdwardsville258,941
Marion CountySalem41,691
Marshall CountyLacon13,180
Mason CountyHavana16,038
Massac CountyMetropolis15,161
McDonough CountyMacomb32,913
McHenry CountyWoodstock260,077
McLean CountyBloomington150,433
Menard CountyPetersburg12,486
Mercer CountyAledo16,957
Monroe CountyWaterloo27,619
Montgomery CountyHillsboro30,652
Morgan CountyJacksonville36,616
Moultrie CountySullivan14,287
Ogle CountyOregon51,032
Peoria CountyPeoria183,433
Perry CountyPinckneyville23,094
Piatt CountyMonticello16,365
Pike CountyPittsfield17,384
Pope CountyGolconda4,413
Pulaski CountyMound City7,348
Putnam CountyHennepin6,086
Randolph CountyChester33,893
Richland CountyOlney16,149
Rock Island CountyRock Island149,374
Saline CountyHarrisburg26,733
Sangamon CountySpringfield188,951
Schuyler CountyRushville7,189
Scott CountyWinchester5,537
Shelby CountyShelbyville22,893
St. Clair CountyBelleville256,082
Stark CountyToulon6,332
Stephenson CountyFreeport48,979
Tazewell CountyPekin128,485
Union CountyJonesboro18,293
Vermilion CountyDanville83,919
Wabash CountyMount Carmel12,937
Warren CountyMonmouth18,735
Washington CountyNashville15,148
Wayne CountyFairfield17,151
White CountyCarmi15,371
Whiteside CountyMorrison60,653
Will CountyJoliet502,266
Williamson CountyMarion61,296
Winnebago CountyRockford278,418
Woodford CountyEureka35,469